California Taxpayer Forms
On September 19, 2012, Governor Brown signed Senate Bill 1186 (SB 1186) into law. SB 1186 is intended to increase disability access, encourage compliance with construction-related accessibility requirements, develop education resources for businesses, and facilitate compliance with Federal and State disability laws. From January 1, 2013, and until December 31, 2017, cities and counties were required to collect a State mandated fee of $1.00 from “any applicant for a local business license or equivalent instrument or permit, and from any applicant for the renewal of a business license or equivalent instrument or permit.” Assembly Bill 1379 was passed on October 11, 2017, which extends the assessment of the fee indefinitely and the State mandated fee from $1.00 to $4.00 from January 1, 2018 until December 31, 2023.
Municipalities are required by law to inform you of the following: Under Federal and State law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:
- The Division of the State Architect at: http://www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/Home.aspx
- The Department of Rehabilitation at: http://www.rehab.cahwnet.gov/
- The California Commission on Disability Access at: http://www.ccda.ca.gov